Reiki and The Chakra System

Reiki and The Chakra System


The chakra system is the main energy system of our body.The chakras are funnels of energy situated in the subtle body and are connected by the nadis to the physical body.Each chakra is linked to different glands and different part of the body and also support our emotional and spiritual beings. When aligned or balance the person is full of energy has full clarity, is effective and purposeful , is emotionally balance and spiritually aware.

The main chakras are associated with different elements,colours and stones.These can be used to re balance the Chakra. There is reference to the chakras in the Vedes an ancient history encyclopedia. The Vedes outlines ancient Indian tradition which was passed on orally from generation to generation from as far back to 1500BC-500BC.

Sir John Woodroffe (pseudonym Arthur Avalon ) is accredited with bring the knowledge of the chakra system to the western world through his book “The Serpent Power” This book giving a complex outline of Hindu mystical and magical ways amongst these the chakras are explained .While Christopher Hills book” Nuclear Evolution Discovery of Rainbow Body” published in 1977 put colours on the chakras.

While I will focus on the seven main chakras which travel from the base of the spine to the crown of the head, it is important to know there are at least 12 minor chakras, in the palms of the hand ,the knees and the sole of the feet.


1.Root Chakra (Muladhara ).

This chakra is located at the base of the spine. It is red in colour .The element associated with the root chakra is Earth .The stone for the root chakra is Haematite. The root chakra develops between 1 year and 7 years.Its function is to maintain a solid foundation ,it is our survival instincts.It ground us.

2.Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)

This chakra is located in the lower abdomen two inches below the umbilicus or naval.The colour associated with the sacral chakra is orange .The element associated with this chakra is Water and the stone is Tiger Eye.This chakra develops between the ages of 8 years and 14 years.This chakra is associated with emotional harmony ,creativity and sexual energy.

3.Solar Plexus (Manipura)

This chakra is Yellow in colour .It is located around the stomach which is the upper abdominal area.This chakra is associated with the Fire element and its stone is Amber.The solar plexus chakra develops between 15 years and 21 years.This chakra allows the person to be confident, have self direction and control of their lives.

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata )

This is the pathway between the upper and lower chakras.It is Green in colour .It is situated in the chest area just above the heart.It element is Air.Its stone is Rose Quartz .It develops between 21 years and 28 years.When the heart chakra is balances the person can give and receive love, they are compassion.

5.Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

The colour of this chakra is Light Blue / Turquoise. It is located in the throat It element is Sound.It is associated with the Aquamarine stone.The Throat chakra gives voice to the heart.It controls self expression, truth and communication.It develops between 29 years and 35 years.

6.The Third Eye Chakra/The Brow Chakra (Ajna)

The colour of this chakra is Indigo.It is located between the two eyes on the forehead.It is known as the eye of the soul.Its stone is Amethyst and its element is Light.It develops between 36years and 42 years.It is associated with intuition ,wisdom and imagination.

7. Crown Chakar (Samsara/Sahasrara )

This chakra is located at the top of the head.It is associated with a White or Violet colour.Its stone is Clear Quartz. It element is Divine Consciousness. The crown chakra develops between 43 years and 49 years.It leads to the ability to be fully connected to spiritually.Not many people achieve this level of spiritual connection.


The Chakras are linked to each other like cogs in a clocks with the purpose of moving energy from one chakra to another so if one get blocked it effects the other chakras causing them to spin quicker or slower or stagnate. This manifest in the physical body for example if the root chakra is effected the person may feel,self conscious, unsure of themselves, thus weaken the foundation of the person .When the amount of energy coming from the root chakra is reduced it effecting all the chakras and imbalance can be evident in all chakras while the blockage is actually in the root chakra .Blockage along the system can cause the other chakras to become overactive or under active for example if the sacral chakra is effected.the person maybe hypersensitive, if the sacral chakra is overactive the person maybe clingy or if the sacral chakra is under active the person maybe disconnected

Negative emotional energy like anger .guilt,loneliness .sadness if not released from the body can block the chakras by slowing the bodys energy down leading to physical ailments.

.By being aware of the elements, the colour and the associated stones for each chakra these can be used to help re balance the chakra. However a reiki treatment is very powerful


A Reiki practitioner can assess the energy in each chakra .They can sense the speed of the energy is it too quick or too slow or is it stagnant and use Reiki to re balance the chakra system. Reiki provides a quicker way to unblock, realignment and balance the main chakra system. Reiki is universal energy and it can be use to blast energy into the chakra breaking up any blockage and dispelling debris allowing the energy to flow freely.

Reiki although Bud dist n origin has its own energy centre call tandems.Tandems and the chakras have been shown to be a different interpretation of the same thing.

Reiki is a boost to the chakra system.As reiki is focus on chakra system it can help restore optimal health,immunity and energy.

READING LIST for mahatmaCW headbeaterchakras

Hill Christopher (1977) Nuclear Evolution : Discovery of Rain bow Body University of Tree Press